The Society of Pension Professionals is a company limited by guarantee governed by a Council, which forms the company’s board. Council is elected by the Society’s Members.

Much of the Society’s work is carried out by specialist committees. There are committees dealing with actuarial matters, administration, European issues, financial services regulation, investment, defined contribution pensions, pension scheme legislation, and public relations.

The membership of the committees reflects the multi-disciplinary make-up of the Society’s membership. The Actuarial Committee brings together actuaries and accountants on matters of common interest. The Administration Committee involves administrators from third party administrators, consultants and providers. The Defined Contribution Committee links consultants, lawyers and providers. The Investment Committee embraces consultants, fund managers, lawyers and specialist trustees. The Legislation Committee also comprises consultants, lawyers and providers.

All these bodies are serviced by a full-time permanent secretariat.